Elizabeth May

Elizabeth May is the author of the YA fantasy trilogy The Falconer (The Falconer, The Vanishing Throne, The Fallen Kingdom), short fiction published in the anthology Toil & Trouble, and the upcoming adult sci-fi novel Seven Devils.

She was born and raised in California before moving to Scotland, where she earned her PhD at the University of St Andrews.

She currently resides in Edinburgh, Scotland, with her husband and two cats.

Claire McFall

Claire McFall is a writer and former English teacher who lives in the Scottish Borders.

Her first book, FERRYMAN is a love story which retells the ancient Greek myth of Charon, the ferryman of Hades who transported souls to the underworld. The novel has been shortlisted for the Scottish Children’s Book Awards and long-listed for the UKLA (UK Literary Association) Book Awards, as well as nominated for the CARNEGIE MEDAL. Film rights for FERRYMAN have been bought up by Legendary Entertainment, and Kelly Marcel, writer of VENOM 2, is contracted to direct the movie.

Debutante by day. Murderess by night. Edinburgh’s only hope.

Edinburgh, 1844. Beautiful Aileana Kameron only looks the part of an aristocratic young lady. In fact, she’s spent the year since her mother died developing her ability to sense the presence of Sithichean, a faery race bent on slaughtering humans. She has a secret mission: to destroy the faery who murdered her mother. But when she learns she’s a Falconer, the last in a line of female warriors and the sole hope of preventing a powerful faery population from massacring all of humanity, her quest for revenge gets a whole lot more complicated. 

The second book in the Falconer trilogy is packed with surprises and suspense. Aileana Kameron, the Falconer, disappeared through the portal that she was trying to close forever. Now she wakes up in the fae world, trapped and tortured by the evil Lonnrach. With the help of an unexpected ally, Aileana re-enters the human world, only to find everything irrevocably changed. Edinburgh has been destroyed, and the few human survivors are living in an uneasy truce with the fae, while both worlds are in danger of disappearing altogether. Aileana holds the key to saving both worlds, but in order to do so she must awaken her latent Falconer powers. And the price of doing that might be her life.

Aileana Kameron, resurrected by ancient fae magic, returns to the world she once knew with no memory of her past and with dangerous powers she struggles to control. Desperate to break the curse that pits two factions of the fae against each other in a struggle that will decide the fate of the human and fae worlds, her only hope is hidden in an ancient book guarded by the legendary Morrigan, a faery of immense power and cruelty. To save the world and the people she loves, Aileana must learn to harness her dark new powers even as they are slowly destroying her.

Based on the Greek myth of Charon, the ferryman who transported souls to the afterlife, the FERRYMAN trilogy follows the journey of Dylan, a fifteen-year-old girl whose train ride to Aberdeen to meet her father ends in tragedy. Crossing the wasteland with her guide, Tristan, she falls in love and is unable to let him go. However, the afterlife exists in a delicate balance, and by refusing to accept her fate, or the fate of her ferryman, Dylan upsets that balance and must find a way to fight for her life, and her love.

Her second novel, BOMBMAKER, was released by Templar Publishing in February 2014 and deals with terrorism and survival.

BLACK CAIRN POINT, released in 2015, won the inaugural Scottish Teenage Book Prize and is a paranormal thriller. TRESPASSERS, the sequel to FERRYMAN, was released by Floris Books in 2017 and in March 2019, OUTCASTS was released, completing the trilogy.

Local Authors


Robert Grant


Albert Marsolais


D.L. Narrol


Jennifer Vettor